AABE-NYMAC Chapter History

AABE New York Metropolitan Area Chapter (NYMAC) is one of three chapters in the Northeast Region of the United States. NYMAC is one of the top three largest and most influential chapters in AABE. NYMAC is a key extension of the national organization.

We were founded in 1987 by minority professionals from Brooklyn Union Gas (now KeySpan Energy/National Grid) and Con Edison. NYMAC currently has four members holding positions on the National Board of Directors of AABE. NYMAC also has had three members serve as Chair of the AABE National Board of Directors.

NYMAC was proud to co-host the 30th Annual AABE National Conference held in DC during April 2007 along with the Northeast and Mid-Atlantic Chapters.

In addition to committing ourselves to the AABE national purpose, we also strive to give professionals and students a pathway to learn more about the energy industry through education, mentoring, community services, and business networking.

Chapter Founder

Leandra Abbott, was Assistant Vice President, Electric Operations at Con Edison.  After moving to operations at Con Edison Leandra focused more on the “business of the business” where she learned new and valuable lessons.  Before moving to operations at Con Edison, she was responsible for Con Edison’s Community Relations and Corporate Philanthropy Programs, which offered volunteer opportunities.

Leandra herself was a volunteer on a grant-making committee at United Way of New York City.and an Executive volunteer at United Way of New York City. As United Way of New York City focuses efforts and resources around Community Action Areas to target the most pressing problems in New York City, Leandra helped to apply her corporate perspective to United Way’s Workforce Development area.

“Especially after 9/11, many of us re-evaluated our lives,” Leandra shares. “For me, it meant renewing a personal commitment to help New Yorkers in need. Con Edison’s long-standing commitment to the community and to United Way has made it possible for me to volunteer.”

Leandra is a recipient of the Clarke A. Watson (CAW) Chairman’s Cup which was established in 1993 and in recognition for outstanding service by an AABE member or staff person who has been selected by the Chair as one who has distinguished themselves to the organization in promoting its growth, vitality and enhancing its mission as a resource for energy policy making.

Become a Member of AABE-NYMAC Today!

Click the "More Info" button to learn how you can become a member of AABE-NYMAC.